Cake Filling Question

Decorating By Munchkinette Updated 15 Apr 2009 , 2:19am by sweet1122

Munchkinette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Munchkinette Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 9:43pm
post #1 of 10

I have a question about cake fillings. I'm making a white cake(DH doesn't care for chocolate) and I would like to use something besides buttercream frosting between the the layers. Since this is my first cake should I just use the buttercream that I'm going to crumb coat it with(covering it in fondant) just to make it easier on myself or take the risk and use a different filling? I'm thinking a fruit filling like raspberry or lemon but I don't have any good recipes for fillings. This is my first attempt at cake baking and I'm just not sure if I'm biting off more then I can chew by doing a different filling. Any tips or suggestions welcomed! Thanks!

Becky

9 replies
jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 9:56pm
post #2 of 10

You can certainly use a filling. Sure, buttercream would be easier (and is what I normally do), but there are tons of free recipes on this site. There's a recipe tab at the upper left of each screen and you can do a search for just fillings.

Be sure to pipe a stiff buttercream dam around to hold the filling in. If you don't, you'll have filling running into the outside and it will be messy. I assume you are practicing on family, so why not go for it?

tinygoose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tinygoose Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 10:12pm
post #3 of 10

Seedless raspberry jam or lemon curd makes a great filling. Like JammJenks said pipe a dam first. There may be a video on youtube about piping a dam, it's not hard. Go for it!!

PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 11:45pm
post #4 of 10