Chocolate Cake - Please!!!

Baking By Lulubelle1970 Updated 12 Apr 2009 , 5:42pm by sayhellojana

Lulubelle1970 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lulubelle1970 Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 8:04am
post #1 of 16

Has anyone come across a chocolate cake recipe that is flavorsome?? I am always disappointed when I make a chocolate cake (from scratch). My last one was full of lovely ingredients but was still a "bit dry and needed more filling" - so I am told. I know it isn't my recipe but it is always a little upsetting to hear. Maybe I am just a rubbish baker - ha. Anyway, please help restore my faith!!

15 replies
sabiha Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sabiha Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 8:25am
post #2 of 16

hi........ this is my choclate cake recipe , that has never dissapointed me , very soft and yummy.........

185 gms butter / margarine
3 oz baking flour
4 oz self raising flour
2 eggs
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1/2 cup of milk
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
6 oz of castor sugar

sift flour with cocoa and bicarbonate of soda and keep aside
Beat margarine and sugar till pale and fluffy, add one egg at a time , beat , on low speed beat in half flour and half milk alternately, bake at 170C. for 45 minutes. this mixture goes into a 8inch round cake tin.

Hope u like the cake that will turn out. icon_smile.gif

Lulubelle1970 Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 8:37am
post #3 of 16

Thank you, I will try your recipe out asap! I appreciate you sharing.
I have also discovered that an oven thermometer is vital. My cakes often rise in the centre in a bit of a dome but I hear they should rise uniformly if the temp it right. That would account for the drying out I guess. So, it's back to the shop for me...

sabiha Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sabiha Posted 12 Apr 2009 , 8:45am
post #4 of 16