How Long In Advance.....

Decorating By Gloria72777 Updated 12 Apr 2009 , 4:38am by nicolesprinkle

Gloria72777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gloria72777 Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 2:35pm
post #1 of 11

How long in advance can I make the cake and crumb coat it? Can I leave it in the freezer? Is it better to have it frozen when I put the fondant on it? Sorry I have so many questions.....I am still learning!!!!

10 replies
ddaigle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ddaigle Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 2:54pm
post #2 of 11

I make my cakes a week in advance....wrap real good in sarah wrap, wrap in aluminum foil and them put in a monster zip lock freezer bag and put in the freezer. I thaw 24 hours in advance (in the frig), and crumb coat/ice the night before. But I am usually only working on one order at a time (at home). I put the fondant on after the crumb coat. I am not a fondant expert, so others may give your better instructions.

aliciag829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aliciag829 Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 3:06pm
post #3 of 11

Personally, I like to put the fondant on my cakes after they are thawed then iced. I like to let them "settle" a little bit at room temp. This helps avoid any bulges.

muddpuppy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
muddpuppy Posted 10 Apr 2009 , 4:42pm
post #4 of 11

I agree.. thawed, settled at room temp, then filled and iced, chilled slightly, like for only five minutes just to set the bc, then fondant.

Gloria72777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gloria72777 Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 6:05pm
post #5 of 11

Thanks so much...I watch the cake challenges on food network and they make it look sooooo EASY!!! It looked like they put the fondant on while the cake was cold...straight out of the fridge. Oh my there are so many things to learn about this. icon_razz.gif

sgauta Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sgauta Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 7:38pm
post #6 of 11