Gumpaste Questions

Decorating By MommaKeri Updated 6 Apr 2009 , 12:24am by RandomCakes

MommaKeri Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MommaKeri Posted 5 Apr 2009 , 10:30pm
post #1 of 4

I am a newbie with cakes, and mainly like to play around with cakes for family and friends.

I love watching shows like Food Network Challange, and seeing all the stuff they do.

Anyhow, my daughter's 4th birthday is in mid-June. I am thinking I'd like to either shape her a cake to look liker her bear character she loves (its the bear from Dr. Seuss Hop on Pop), or make a smaller, more traditional layer cake with gumpaste flowers. I see so many cute cakes with ribbon and flowers, and I think I could make a cute one.

However, I am wondering - can I purchase some prepared Gumpaste (the Wilton stuff), and toy around with it, seeing if I can even make some flowers, and be able to save what Gumpaste I don't use? If I do get some decent looking flowers, can I store them and still have them be edible in June?

(on a side question - how does the prepared Wilton Fondant taste? I have tried MMF multiple times and can't for the life of me get that stuff to roll out and cover like I see on TV. Granted, I don't have fancy Marble or stainless countertops to work on - but that shouldn't be the root of all my troubles)

3 replies
playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 5 Apr 2009 , 11:44pm
post #2 of 4

What's the weather like down there in Durham? Is it damp most of the time, or on the dry side?

I ask because, although I have never used it, I have read that Wilton Pre-made Gumpaste does not readily dry.

And as far as the fondant goes, find a recipe you want to try, and work with that instead. Wilton rolled fondant has a chemical kind of taste to it, at least in my opinion.

People here on CC rave about Michele Foster's rolled fondant. You can find the recipe in the files.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile