Success!! Strawberry Cake!

Decorating By SeriousCakes Updated 22 Apr 2009 , 3:16am by cakes21

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 5:35pm
post #31 of 45

If you want to avoid the artificial flavors totally you can get the citrus oils from Boyajian. They're from the rinds of the fruit, so they're really concentrated and you just need to add a teaspoon or so to each batch to get a good flavor. They also make a natural strawberry flavor.

I use the strawberry flavor and real strawberries in the batter of my strawberry cake, and it's really good.

MikeRowesHunny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MikeRowesHunny Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 5:48pm
post #32 of 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serious_Cakes

solascakes, I'm a scratch baker too,I was always so hesistant about going this route.

Here's the link to the original recipe:
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Strawberry-Cake-from-Scratch/Detail.aspx

I've been using this for strawberry cake for years BUT for a European palate, it will be too sweet as written (trust me). I take out 1/4c of the sugar and add pureed FRESH strawberries (I buy them in the summer when they are cheap and plentiful, puree loads and freeze them in 1/2c quantities and use them all year round for strawberry cakes!). It is perfect with these small changes thumbs_up.gif

solascakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
solascakes Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 5:56pm
post #33 of 45

Serious_Cakes and bonjovibabe thanks a lot for the recipes,i will try it and definitely let you guys know.

majormichel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
majormichel Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 6:08pm
post #34 of 45

I use the strawberry recipe all the time from allrecipes. Instead of butter I use magarine and it comes out just fine. I love the recipe.

Caralinc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caralinc Posted 14 Apr 2009 , 6:29pm
post #35 of 45

Thanks for sharing your strawberry cake. I will definantly give it try!!