? Wedding Cake Order For April 24Th

Decorating By sandy1 Updated 14 Apr 2009 , 5:13pm by tonedna

sandy1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sandy1 Posted 1 Apr 2009 , 3:59pm
post #1 of 13

I just received a call from someone asking me to make a wedding cake for 160 people. They want the cake for April 24th!!! The reception is 1 1/4 hours away from my house. How should I price this cake??? If the bride wants just buttercreme icing____? If she wants fondant___?
Should there be an extra charge for fruit filling? I'm not good at pricing and need some help. Should there be a delivery charge, etc.... Can anyone give me some advice???? Talk about the bride to be waiting until last minute!!!!!! Help!
S

12 replies
MikeRowesHunny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MikeRowesHunny Posted 1 Apr 2009 , 4:07pm
post #2 of 13

Yes to the delivery fee, for that distance I am currently charging $50. I can't tell you what to charge per serving, but at this late stage you need it all signed, sealed & delivered by this weekend at the latest and FULL payment up front by then too. I charge FROM $4 for buttercream and $5 for fondant, but I live in a metropoliitan city and bake from scratch etc. People here want to go intricate this year, so far and all my weddings booked are in the $6.50-$8.50 range (lots of gumpaste flowers etc)!

Erika2000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Erika2000 Posted 1 Apr 2009 , 4:11pm
post #3 of 13

My prices start at $3.50 per serving for buttercream and $5.00 per serving for fondant. Extra charges depend on the intricacy of the decorations. I don't charge extra for fillings. That's a long way to transport a cake - delivery would be at least $100

jamiekwebb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jamiekwebb Posted 1 Apr 2009 , 4:11pm
post #4 of 13