Ideas For Icing

Baking By laeason Updated 2 Apr 2009 , 11:43am by GeminiRJ

laeason Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
laeason Posted 1 Apr 2009 , 12:27pm
post #1 of 5

I am new to cookie decorating and wanting to make bunny and egg cookies for Easter. I need help with the icing. How do you get that shiny smooth finish. Is it color flow??? How do you pipe the outlines on the cookies??? Help!

4 replies
imamommy1205 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imamommy1205 Posted 1 Apr 2009 , 1:13pm
post #2 of 5

When I have done it I have just had to free hand, takes practice though (I know I need more!). I will either put the icing in a plastic baggie and cut a tiny hole, or use a piping bag with a tip on it.
I just use royal icing (although it doesnt taste right with the cookies that are soft in the middle). I make the regular consistency for the outline part, then thin some of it out so I can kinda of pour it into the outline with a spoon and spread it around, then let is dry and harden completely. Then you can use the regular consistency icing again to add details (again, AFTER the middle dries).

I am by no means an expert, this is just my experience with it. Good luck! I was actually thinking about the same idea for Easter cookies. icon_smile.gif

GeminiRJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GeminiRJ Posted 1 Apr 2009 , 5:38pm
post #3 of 5