Color Flow

Decorating By KristenL Updated 1 Apr 2009 , 7:53pm by kakeladi

KristenL Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KristenL Posted 1 Apr 2009 , 11:00am
post #1 of 4

Hello! I'm making a Star Wars cake for my son for this Saturday. The Darth Vader is going to be made using Color Flow. I've NEVER used this before. I read the directions last night and found out that I need to let the color flow image dry for 2-3 days. I'm not planning on starting this until after work today. I'm nervous that it won't be dry to put on the cake for Saturday. Can I just "pipe" the color flow image onto the cake Friday or is it better to make it on the parchment first and let it dry? I'm just nervous about time right now.
UUGGHH!!!!
Thanks!
~Kristen
icon_cry.gif

3 replies
ernesta Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ernesta Posted 1 Apr 2009 , 11:32am
post #2 of 4

I've used color flow before and it's fairly easy to use. The hardest part was keeping the color flow inside my border. I would suggest putting it on the WAX paper. 1-2 days was enough drying time for my projects usually. Make more than one in case it breaks. Also, the first piece will give you a chance to figure out how much pressure to use when piping so you go too far over your border.

When you get ready to take it off the wax paper, lay it flat on the counter at the edge and slowly pull the wax paper down towards the floor as you slowly slide the piece towards the edge of the table. Do 1/2 of the piece then rotate it and do the other 1/2. When you get back to the middle be very careful otherwise it'll go flying/sliding to the floor.

I love color flow, but it hardens really fast. Keep some water and a small brush handy to pat down any peaks right away and gently "guide" color flow into corners and edges.

Work in smallish sections but work quickly on the piece overall. Hope this helps! icon_biggrin.gif

sweetopia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetopia Posted 1 Apr 2009 , 11:54am
post #3 of 4

Hi!