What Do You Do With The Leveled Off Bits?

Decorating By Skyebaby Updated 1 Apr 2009 , 1:52am by BeeBoos-8599_

Skyebaby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Skyebaby Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 6:39pm
post #1 of 36

I'm a complete newbie caker so my cakes still need quite a bit leveled off. It's enough that I've saved it and snacked on it over a day or two. lol

It's really completely yummy because I've never been a fan of the sweet icing that I'm trying to perfect right now so it's like a little consolation prize while I decorate my cake icon_smile.gif

35 replies
luvsfreebies72 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvsfreebies72 Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 6:41pm
post #2 of 36

some people make cake balls out of them. If you do a search you'll find out all about them

Skyebaby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Skyebaby Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 6:46pm
post #3 of 36

Interesting! I had no idea icon_smile.gif

prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 6:47pm
post #4 of 36

If doing a stacked cake, I use the leveled off part to make cake crumbs to put underneath the separator plates to prevent them from sticking to the icing of the tier below. Otherwise, they go into the trash.

pattigunter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattigunter Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 6:53pm
post #5 of 36

I eat them of course!! Thats the main reason that I've gained 30 lbs in the last few years icon_redface.gif

lalaine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lalaine Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 6:53pm
post #6 of 36

i eat them!
thats probably why i've gained 20 lbs since i started decorating cakes 3 years ago.

pattigunter Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 6:54pm
post #7 of 36

I just cant stand the thought of throwing them away....

enoid Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
enoid Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 6:56pm
post #8 of 36

Most of the time my family eat them unless I can hide them long enough to make cake truffles. (aka cakeballs) icon_lol.gif

aggiechef Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile