How Can I Control Mmf Sweetness

Decorating By justlovecakes Updated 2 Apr 2009 , 1:03am by jensenscakes

justlovecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
justlovecakes Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 8:18am
post #1 of 6

Hi! I`m a newbie here at cakecentral and a newbie in baking cakes too. I`m just wondering if it is possible for me to control the sweetness of my homemade MMF. It seems to sweet for me though I love working with it because it makes my cakes look good. I tried to check Michele Foster`s recipe too but unfortunately corn syrup seems nowhere to be found in my country. Hope you can give me some advice.

5 replies
ThreeDGirlie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ThreeDGirlie Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 8:28am
post #2 of 6

I general, a little salt helps cut sweetness. You can buy finely ground "popcorn salt", or you can just take regular salt and run it trough a coffee/spice grinder.

justlovecakes Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 9:08am
post #3 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThreeDGirlie

I general, a little salt helps cut sweetness. You can buy finely ground "popcorn salt", or you can just take regular salt and run it trough a coffee/spice grinder.

Thanks!!! Gonna try this one for the birthday cake next week. You`re an angel.

allie73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
allie73 Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 1:07pm
post #4 of 6

I couldn't deal with the mess of MMF, and no matter what I did, it cracked on me. I did switch to Michele Foster's recipe and I love it. I'm not sure where you are at, but I'm almost positivte that you could swap out the corn syrup for golden syrup. If you're in the UK, you can find that anywhere!

Good luck!

justlovecakes Posted 31 Mar 2009 , 5:58pm
post #5 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by allie73