Using Other People's Ideas??

Business By cory49 Updated 31 Mar 2009 , 7:02pm by lostincake

cory49 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cory49 Posted 30 Mar 2009 , 3:35pm
post #1 of 9

I have a question and hope it is not stupid...though my questions usually are...!Ha! icon_smile.gif I am just beginning to make cakes for practice and was just wondering...when selling cakes, is it okay to use other people's ideas (from here, magazines, etc.) as a starting point. I know no two cakes are exactly alike, but is it wrong to mimick other designs or tweak them for sell? Just wondering! Thanks.

8 replies
tootie0809 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tootie0809 Posted 30 Mar 2009 , 3:40pm
post #2 of 9

Of course it is. We all use other's designs for inspiration. I think as long as you are not claiming anyone's design as your own, you are fine. I practice all the time by trying to replicate cakes I've seen here and in books and magazines.

mommaof3cuties Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommaof3cuties Posted 30 Mar 2009 , 3:45pm
post #3 of 9

I would take it as a compliment if someone wanted to copy my cake! I just always give credit where credit is due!

SHogg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SHogg Posted 30 Mar 2009 , 3:48pm
post #4 of 9

Chances are your cake won't turn out exactly like someone else's cake, and I don't feel that it's wrong to use someone's design but you must give credit where credit is due. Whether you are explaining it to someone or publishing it here on CC you should say 'Orginal design by....' or 'Design inspired by....'. I've had one of my cakes copied here and I was a little disappointed that they didn't mention me, but when you put cakes out there for others to see you are also sharing ideas and designs. But I wouldn't copy anything that has an actually copyright attached to it. Hope this helps.
Welcome to CC!!!

tx_cupcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tx_cupcake Posted 30 Mar 2009 , 3:50pm
post #5 of 9
Quote: