Royal Icing Mix Help

Decorating By hannahball Updated 1 Apr 2009 , 3:01pm by AnitaK

hannahball Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hannahball Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 11:00am
post #1 of 9

Hi all. I'm VERY new to cake decorating. For convenience, I've bought some Silver Spoon Royal Icing mix to practice piping with. However, I'm having real trouble getting the right consistency. At first I added too much water, and it didn't hold it's shape when piped. I read that royal icing should have stiff peaks when mixed. I made a stiffer mixture - but only enough to form soft peaks. When I tried to use it I found it very hard to squeeze the bag. In fact my hand ached terribly. I know this is all very basic but does anyone know the ratio of water to mix I need to use? The more obvious you can be with me the better! thanks

8 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 1:23pm
post #2 of 9

Welcome to Cake Central!!

I can't specially give you ratio or anything. But I can tell you that you'll want to add more water depending on what you are wanting to create. If you are outlining cookies and then filling them in, you are going to want a pretty liquid consistency like you had the first time.

If you are wanting to do scroll work and piping work, it's going to need to be the consistency of peanut butter. (That's straight from Michelle Bommarito's lips). Honestly, my hands do hurt from piping and it is hard to squeeze the bag. You could try to thin it down a little bit...but just know that a little bit of water goes a long way!!!

Hope this helps!

You can also check out this link! It has all the forum acronyms you will need.
http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-2926.html

prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 5:26pm
post #3 of 9