Is This Possible?

Decorating By jonahsmom Updated 24 Mar 2009 , 1:19am by jonahsmom

jonahsmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jonahsmom Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 1:11pm
post #1 of 9

A friend of mine has a son who is graduating from high school this year and he LOVES guitars...he has six of them! Anyway, one of the suggestions she made as far as cake is to have a guitar on a stand! Not just a small fondant guitar on a small fondant stand on top of the cake, but an actually life-size guitar. Now, I'm a newbie and don't even know if I would even ATTEMPT something like this, but if I were to attempt it, how would I go about it? I know many of you use RKT...is that what I would have to use? Hmm....it would be super cool to be able to do. No one in the area does anything like that.....

TIA!

8 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 1:19pm
post #2 of 9

Yes it is possible. But........even w/my almost 30 yrs of experience I wouldn't try it!

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 1:22pm
post #3 of 9

I agree with Kakeladi..I have done alot of things over the years (Cake wise)but I wouldn't try it either!! Sometimes even the cakes that Duff does I wouldn't attempt.

janelwaters Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
janelwaters Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 1:23pm
post #4 of 9

as mentioned - yes it is possible - but I saw on Amazing Wedding Cakes, the girls at the Pink Cake Box tried it and with 6 people helping had major issues!

Good luck with whatever you decide!

this-mama-rocks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
this-mama-rocks Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 1:28pm
post #5 of 9

If you can catch the episode, the Cake Girls on We TV's "Amazing Wedding Cakes" did a standing guitar cake. It seemed pretty challenging.

Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 23 Mar 2009 , 1:30pm
post #6 of 9