Decorating Class At Local Highschool?

Decorating By BumbleBakeShop Updated 22 Mar 2009 , 11:47pm by cindww

BumbleBakeShop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BumbleBakeShop Posted 22 Mar 2009 , 6:00pm
post #1 of 7

Hey all! I'm pretty much a newbie when it comes to cake decorating and everything I have done has been self-taught.

At the local high school, they are offering a cake decorating class for 8 weeks for $45 plus supplies.

Has anyone done something similar to this? Are classes like this credible and worth it? I don't want to be disappointed. icon_rolleyes.gif

Thanks!! icon_smile.gif

6 replies
Getus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Getus Posted 22 Mar 2009 , 8:27pm
post #2 of 7

I would go for it. For $45 you are bound to learn something you can use...that's a bargain. 8 weeks...it sounds like they intend to teach several different things...even if it's basic things...you are going to learn some valuable tips and such, as well as some techniques.
Do it. thumbs_up.gif

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 22 Mar 2009 , 8:39pm
post #3 of 7

wow! $45 for 8 weeks sounds really valuable. How many days a week? Do you know who it's taught by? You could ask those person's credentials...these are things I would be interested in knowing. other than that I would do it if I knew the program!

GayeG Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GayeG Posted 22 Mar 2009 , 8:41pm
post #4 of 7

Awww - this is where I took my ONE and ONLY class .. But it was 30 yrs ago!!! (O MY!) and I loved it! Its what got me HOOKED in the first place! I wouldnt trade my memory for nothing! I learned all the basic uses of the tips etc. I say go for it!! Even if you come away only learning a few things - its a few things more than you know now icon_smile.gif Good Luck and let us know how you like it!

BumbleBakeShop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BumbleBakeShop Posted 22 Mar 2009 , 9:07pm
post #5 of 7

Thanks for the replies and words of encouragement!!