How Do I Fix This? Buttercream Dream Cream Cheese?

Decorating By imartsy Updated 26 Mar 2009 , 3:21am by icer101

imartsy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imartsy Posted 21 Mar 2009 , 12:46am
post #1 of 16

ok so I've kinda screwed up....I was supposed to make vanilla cupcakes and I put vanilla caramel coffee creamer in them....I think that part is ok..it's not overpowering or anything....

Other problem - I just made buttercream dream icing and I think the icing my friend had tasted (like 2 years ago) was cream cheese icing - could I add 8 oz of cream cheese to buttercream dream and be ok? It doesn't need to crust or anything - it's going on cupcakes. What do you guys think?

I have two packages of cream cheese - should I add both? Add none? or start over? (I really really don't want to start over...)

15 replies
tenleysmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tenleysmommy Posted 21 Mar 2009 , 12:55am
post #2 of 16

I am no expert here,but I use BC dream all the time and when I do make cream cheese I use both butter and shortening.So I wouldnt see the harm in adding the cream cheese,maybe add a little more sugar,start with one cheese and if it needes more add little more at a time .Just a thought,hth

Stephanie

imartsy Posted 21 Mar 2009 , 1:02am
post #3 of 16

Keep your fingers crossed... I'm going to try it. Shoot and I didn't charge for buttercream icing...oh well it's a friend and I did kinda screw up the cake flavor a bit - I don't think she'll notice - it was 2 years ago that I saw her and she actually ate the cupcakes I made for a Christmas tea....

LESSON LEARNED: always write down what kind of cake and what icing you used when you take the picture of the cake! That way if someone says "ooh that thing you made two years ago...." you know what it was.

SECOND LESSON: when you do remember to write that stuff down - CHECK it before you go "hmm I think that was this flavor..."

They are yummy either way.... but still I feel like an idiot.