Help..."easy Marshmallow Fondant" Recipe Posted By

Decorating By Carol97 Updated 20 Mar 2009 , 1:06pm by Carol97

Carol97 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Carol97 Posted 19 Mar 2009 , 5:09pm
post #1 of 10

I am officially making my first cake and already running behind because both my daughter and I have been sick this week. This cake is for my daughters 2nd party with is this Saturday!! I plan on making the "Easy Marshmallow Fondant" and using it to make baby einstein decorations. The recipe does not say let it rest overnight before using....can I make and use immediately? Will the fondant dry and harden w/o using gumpaste mixed with it? or should I mix with some Wilton store bought gumpaste to make these, will they dry by Saturday to put on the cake? Any advise on using this fondant....this is my first try with it....I ran out of time to even make a practice run!!

I'm going to try and make the 2 dimensional figures as shown on the sides of the following attached cake photo.

Thanks so much!!!!!
LL

9 replies
CakeMommy3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMommy3 Posted 19 Mar 2009 , 5:38pm
post #2 of 10

Are you planning on anyone eating the decorations? They are going to be really hard. Plus, gumpaste tastes yucky, lol. A lot of people use the MMF immediately, or at least after it has cooled for an hour or so. I find it really easy to cover my cakes when I use it soon after making. The resting lets it firm up. And trust me, it will. And since you are using it for decoration, you would probably want it to be firm. Depending on how elaborate the design is, it would probably be dry enough by Saturday. Are you going to cover the cake in the MMF? You could even use straight gumpaste to make the decorations, and just don't let anyone eat them. HTH

niccicola Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
niccicola Posted 19 Mar 2009 , 5:39pm
post #3 of 10