Help, New To Fondant!

Decorating By flyladyrocks Updated 18 Mar 2009 , 2:37am by GI

flyladyrocks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flyladyrocks Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 4:44am
post #1 of 9

Okay, I have never used Fondant before, so I am wondering if I should just skip it for my daughters b-day cake (princess castle) or should I attempt it? I wasn't planning on using it but my best friend suggested I cover my ice dream cone towers with fondant b/c it is is easier than frosting. She said she likes marshmallow fondant, or to just buy it, but from what I've read here Wiltons fondant tastes horrible.

Then I thought , wow, I love the smooth look of fondant, maybe I should cover the layers too, but I have no ideas how to use it. For example, how do you not get wrinkles in in when you fold it over the sides and corners? (or around the angles of ice cream cone towers?)

I am such an amatuer at cake decorating, basically I just love creating fun cakes for my kids, do you think I will be taking on much to try fondant if I've never used it before? Am I nuts to try it? Am I likely to totally ruin her cake and be up all night long the night before rebaking and decorating?

I would love any of your tips, ideas or thoughts!

Thanks so much!

8 replies
mommyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommyle Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 4:58am
post #2 of 9

You can totally do it. My first cake that I used fondant on was an airplane. There are several good videos that show how to do it. Make your own fondant (it's easy and tastes good). Take a deep breath. And if there are any wrinkles in it, have "vines" going up the sides of your castle.
Good luck.
PM if you have any more ?
LL

MacsMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MacsMom Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 5:03am
post #3 of 9

Try my recipe for MMF - the glycerine in it helps make it more elastic so it covers corners and such with ease. You can find Wilton's glycerine in the cake supplies.