What Would You Charge?

Decorating By Kerry_Kake Updated 11 May 2009 , 3:02pm by Kerry_Kake

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 10 May 2009 , 1:21am
post #31 of 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerry_Kake

Thanks for your responses. Of course I am WAY underpriced but I only live in a 1300 populated village, lol. I only charged them $60 plus they gave me a $10 tip. Not too far off from the NL girl.
Nothing fancy about this cake, it is only Vanilla cake filled with buttercream. Not that much time into it really. Surprising it was really easy to do. I got the tutorial to carve TT on YouTube by janellscakes.
Now that you got your laugh on what I actually charged, I can now actually tell my customers what everyone else would charge for a cake like this.
To MomLittr, your cake is beautiful and you should charge $250 for that cake. There is a lot of time into the detail and the flowers. I would probably charge $150. But my prices are partly because I am a newbie. Who wants to pay high end prices on someone who isn't perfect?!?

Here's my question. If you went out to a restaurant for a nice meal--how much would they be charging for dessert?

Kerry_Kake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kerry_Kake Posted 10 May 2009 , 2:55am
post #32 of 42

k8memphis, dessert is one thing....cake is another. Wait, wait calm down, lol. I mean yes you can make cake a pretty delicate dessert with decadent fillings and what not. But I was talking about a simple cake with only buttercream filling. A restaurant around here might charge $3.50 per/slice (usually a carrot cake or something fancy) but if you bought the whole cake they would charge less. Yes I am underpriced comparing to you people, but in my area I am not! Compared to a co-caker she only charges $15 for a 9x13 sheet cake and I charge $25...so there you have it.