Question - Events Coordinator Contacted Me

Business By poshcakedesigns Updated 30 Mar 2009 , 12:36pm by poshcakedesigns

poshcakedesigns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poshcakedesigns Posted 15 Mar 2009 , 1:45am
post #1 of 19

Hey guys I'm hoping someone can help me. I had an events coordinator from a local country club email me today and she's looking for a baker for cupcakes and the occasional wedding cakes and she wants me to call her Monday to answer some 'questions'.

My question is - how do bakeries handle this sort of situation? I know they exist but I'm worried that she might be wanting me to cut her a special 'deal' on cakes which is absolutely out of the question. Other than that what else could an events coordinator want to know?

I'd kinda like to have some of my ducks in a row before calling her on Monday. I am a licensed baker and I work from commerical kitchen, I'm just not sure what an 'events' coordinator would be looking for and don't want to be caught off guard.

Anyone had an events coordinator contact you for cakes???? anyone?

18 replies
PatricesPieces Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PatricesPieces Posted 15 Mar 2009 , 2:06am
post #2 of 19

Usually what they want to know is your prices (including any delivery fees) and what services you offer. She may also want your website address and your contact information. She will probably just ask some of the same questions that a customer would ask.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 15 Mar 2009 , 2:08am
post #3 of 19

My guess would be that she just wants to talk to you about pricing, cakes and what services you provide (delivery? setup?). She's probably looking for a baker that she can refer her clients to. I wouldn't assume she's looking for a price break. Unless she's planning on buying 20+ cakes a week type of volume, she's just placing an order.

none of the planners I work with expect a price discount.

Melvira Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile