Fondant Question From A Newbie!

Decorating By AmberV Updated 12 Mar 2009 , 3:13pm by MacsMom

AmberV Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmberV Posted 12 Mar 2009 , 2:18pm
post #1 of 5

Hi Everyone! I am new to fondant...as in I've never worked with it at all. Not to mention I am not a pro with BC but I think I've made some pretty cool cake thus far, not perfect by any means. I am planning on making my first fondant covered cake for this Saturday. I'm doing a purse cake for my daughter's 2nd birthday, since that's what she loves. I have a few questions I have not been able to find answers to. Maybe I'm not looking in the right place. I have watched several videos also.

1) Is is possible to make/decorate the cake the day before? I'm hoping so since this will allow me time to scratch the whole plan if I'm really messing this up! icon_razz.gif

2) From what I've read, you cannot refrigerate fondant once it's been decorated as it might cause some blemishes. Is this correct? I'm much prefer the taste of cream cheese frosting over BC and am afraid that I will not be able to use it since I cannot refigerate.

3) The purse I want to attempt is a trapezoid shape- matching invitation. I've seen many videos where they put the entire piece of fondant over the cake and video where they were making a purse cake other where they cut the pieces to size and then stuck them on to the cake in sections. Which is better for a newbie?

Your help is very much appreciated!!! icon_biggrin.gif

4 replies
Shelly4481 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shelly4481 Posted 12 Mar 2009 , 2:35pm
post #2 of 5