Favorite Specialty Decorating Tips

Decorating By PamelaMichele Updated 13 Mar 2009 , 1:49pm by janebrophy

PamelaMichele Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PamelaMichele Posted 11 Mar 2009 , 2:52am
post #1 of 14

Hi everyone. I'm very new to cake art/decorating and this site, but I must say I'm addicted already. icon_lol.gif

I'm starting to build up my collection of decorating tips and was wondering if there are any great ones besides the norm (ones I'm using for my Wilton classes) that I should not be without. Also, if you have any skills/tips you would be willing to share about how to use different tips besides the normal way I would greatly appreciate. I'm trying to think outside the box a little bit on this one.

I tried to search for previous threads, but I came up empty every time. So if there is one, direction to it would be great. Thanks!

13 replies
Liniti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Liniti Posted 11 Mar 2009 , 6:42am
post #2 of 14

I too am starting back into cake decorating as a hobby now that I've recently retired from nursing. I've gotten a little carried away with buying supplies, especially the tips. After making a Princess Carriage cake last weekend for my granddaughter's birthday, and having to fill it in with so many stars, I think a must-have tip would be the multi-star tip where 3 stars can be placed all at one time. Sure would be a time saver!
Good luck with your cake decorating.....I share your passion!

paula19 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paula19 Posted 11 Mar 2009 , 7:10am
post #3 of 14

This should help. It shows all the tips, the effects they make, and their price. Go to this link...
http://www.wilton.com/store/site/department.cfm?id=3E304FE9-475A-BAC0-542C86E6718519F9&fid=3E305C8B-475A-BAC0-54E61BA4686884CF

PamelaMichele Posted 11 Mar 2009 , 2:38pm
post #4 of 14

Thanks for the link!

soygurl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soygurl Posted 11 Mar 2009 , 9:32pm
post #5 of 14