Iso 16Th Century French Food!

Decorating By eatdessert1st Updated 11 Mar 2009 , 2:07pm by PinkZiab

eatdessert1st Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eatdessert1st Posted 10 Mar 2009 , 9:10pm
post #1 of 9

My son has to bring a food from the time of Samuel de Champlain on Friday. I'm at a loss. I've done an extensive search on the net but haven't found any dessert type thing except sugared almonds... no pralines as we now know themicon_sad.gif Does anyone know anything about this time period? If I can't come up w/ anything my sister told me to buy a loaf of french bread and some roquefort cheese LOL. The kids would just love that, right icon_lol.gif Any help would be very appreciated. I'm going cross-eyed from computer searching.

Mel Mc.

8 replies
summernoelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
summernoelle Posted 10 Mar 2009 , 9:25pm
post #2 of 9

I have some French cookbooks I bought when I studied in France. I'll go see if any of them have that in there for you. icon_smile.gif

summernoelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
summernoelle Posted 10 Mar 2009 , 10:05pm
post #3 of 9

Sorry, I've got nothin.

lanibird Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lanibird Posted 10 Mar 2009 , 10:30pm
post #4 of 9

I came across this website years ago; looks like most of it is 15th centuryish, but maybe it'll help:
http://www.godecookery.com/nboke/neweboke.htm

HTH thumbs_up.gif

Lady_Phoenix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lady_Phoenix Posted 10 Mar 2009 , 10:46pm
post #5 of 9

When my daughter was in high school, her foreign language group had dessert day. I made a Gâteau St. Honoré. Time consuming, a bit tedious, but well worth the effort! http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/graham-kerr/gateau-st-honore-recipe/index.html That is one version of the gateau. And St. Honore is the French patron saint of pastry chefs and bakers. icon_lol.gif

PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 11 Mar 2009 , 1:10am
post #6 of 9