Help! My Fondant Tiered Cakes Always Buckle !!

Decorating By Carlachef Updated 25 May 2009 , 3:02am by yamber82

Carlachef Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Carlachef Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 3:52pm
post #1 of 20

Although I've been decorating cakes for 10 years, I never been able to solve this issue. When stacking fondant cakes, my cakes tend to buckle.I always use dowel rods and have no trouble with buttercream. Would it help if I freeze the cakes first? If so, when they thaw, wont it happen anyway. What am I doing wrong??

19 replies
Jeannem Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeannem Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 4:58pm
post #2 of 20

Are you saying they they bulge?? Couple of things might be causing it..the cake settling from gravity. I usually leave mine sit overnight once crumb coated.
Or it could be that the dowels are cut a tiny bit too short and the cake is just barely resting on the cake below it. This usually gets worse when transporting..

2508s42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2508s42 Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 5:05pm
post #3 of 20

Is it air bubbles? Make sure that the icing underneath is moist so tha the fondant sticks to it.

amy2197 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amy2197 Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 5:07pm
post #4 of 20

Give us a little more info and we'll try to help...

2508s42 Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 5:19pm
post #5 of 20

okay, I looked at your photos, and here are some things that I think will help.
Fondant mirrors everything that the icing is doing. Make sure that your icing is as smooth at you want your fondant to be. It helps to let the cake settle for a while. I actually will put it in the fridge for about 10 minutes to let it firm up, then add a final thin coat of icing.

If air bubbles do develop, then poke them with a little pin and work out the air gently. Fill in the pin prick with some matching icing.

Use a fondant smoother. Your fingers make ridges.