Price Of Cake Dummy

Decorating By t2caudill Updated 5 Mar 2009 , 2:11am by sgirvan

t2caudill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
t2caudill Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 4:31pm
post #1 of 4

I have been decorating cakes for five years and I have never been asked to include a cake dummy in a wedding cake. How do you price a wedding cake that includes a "fake tier"? I think I read on here once that you include it in your serving size just as any other cake. I have searched and I can't find any information on here regarding this issue, so any help is much appreciated. THANKS!!

3 replies
sgirvan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sgirvan Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 6:07pm
post #2 of 4

Hello,

I did one last year and I have a client who may want a wedding cake like that for this year as well. The people who did it last year wanted a beautiful looking wedding cake with only the 8 inch topper real cake so they could do the traditional cutting and feeding to each other and then they had 100 cupcakes made to match the cake.
I charge approx $2.25 per serving (I still calculate the size of the cake based on servings) and for real cake I charge about $3.25 per serving.
It is the same amount of work to decorate and same amount of fondant, etc, the only difference is the actual cake icon_smile.gif There are a few places around me that do the cake dummy rentals and they start their rentals at $225 which will include a top real cutting cake.
In my pictures, the wedding cake that is 4 tiers, white with purple ribbon and flowers is a cake dummy with top layer cutting cake

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 10:14pm
post #3 of 4

Have you priced styro? It costs as much or more than real cake.
Everything else is the same - cost and work - so why should the cake coast less because it is a dummy?
What ever you usually charge per serving is still what you charge for this creation - nothing less.

sgirvan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile