I've Never Been Successful ...

Decorating By Ayanami Updated 3 Mar 2009 , 6:02pm by Ayanami

Ayanami Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ayanami Posted 2 Mar 2009 , 8:02pm
post #1 of 12

I have tried a variety of ways to get an effective "marbleing" of white & chocolate cake mixes but I jsut can't seem to get it right.

What I consider a "marble" cake is where you have patches of random, uneven cake flavorings throughout the entire cake. Not just a line of one flavor making a skinny path thru the cake.

I am a box mix baker & I usually use Pils / BC / DH depends on whats on sale.

I have tried pouring one batter on top of the other, pouring the batters side by side & running a knife in swirling motions, dropping globs of batter randomly thru each other then swirling .....

The only time I got a really good marbled cake was when I did strawberry batter on bottom & poured chocolate batter directly on top. During baking, the soft fluffy strawberry rose up & around the heavier dense chocolate & the finished cake was a "perfect" (IMO) marble cake.

If that makes any sense to anyone & they know how I can achieve what I am wanting to do, I would greatly appreciate your input & advice.

TIA

11 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 2 Mar 2009 , 11:48pm
post #2 of 12

What I have sometimes done is to take the choco (dry) mix and mix it w/oil to a thick mud and drop it in the yellow batter then swirl it thru. Because the choco batter is much heavier it sinks and spreads little. Sounds like that is what you are going for?

j-pal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
j-pal Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 6:18am
post #3 of 12