Getting Excited But Need Some Help..

Business By CakeInfatuation Updated 27 Feb 2009 , 5:48pm by deb12g

CakeInfatuation Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeInfatuation Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 12:59am
post #1 of 8

Okay... so I've been decorating since March 2008 when I took Wilton Course 1. Ideally my husband would have loved for me to get a job in a bakery to learn the ins and outs of the cake decorating world before I take the plunge into getting a licensed home kitchen.

However... with two small boys (almost 4 and 6 years), it's really hard to find a job that fits my schedule and pays enough to justify child care. Which leads me to my questions...

He's finally open to me taking the plunge to get licensed as I've been turning away work which makes me crazy and he thinks is stupid despite how he'd like things to be.

So I know I need a variance to prove to the dept. of Agriculture that I am not in conflict with zoning ordinances. $500

I need the license from the Dept. of Agriculture $35

I need insurance ???

My husband is concerned about liability and wants me to look into an LLC.

What am I missing and what other information can you give me to help me work through this process.

Is there some kind of thread already going on here that covers all the stuff you need to think about? I could sure use a check list.

Also... I'm in PA. If that helps anyone.

Thanks in advance guys. I'm getting so excited. By the way... how long does the process take anyway?

7 replies
kkitchen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kkitchen Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 1:03am
post #2 of 8

The zoning thing for you is cheep. The guy was asking me about $1000.00. These people are suckers. Do you live in a residential area?

CakeInfatuation Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 1:07am
post #3 of 8

Yes, I'm in a residential neighborhood. This would be my home kitchen that is getting licensed.

kkitchen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kkitchen Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 1:21am
post #4 of 8