Help Needed Pretty Quick With Dowels Please

Decorating By joanna3292 Updated 23 Jun 2011 , 1:23am by tiggy2

joanna3292 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joanna3292 Posted 26 Feb 2009 , 9:26am
post #1 of 18

Im making a toadstool cake which is two cakes stuck on top of each other. I know I should use dowels in the bottom cake but ive only got plastic ones which i cant cut to size. I dont really understand why dowels ave to be cut to the height of the cake, surely the cake would be more stable if i left the dowels sticking out the top of the bottom cake and then stuck the top one onto the dowels and therefore piercing the top cake? any thoughts greatly appreciated as i am feeling very under pressure with this cake and its important to me that i do a good job, the cake has a long way to travel so i am keen for it not to fall apart! you can tell im new to this cant you! thanks

17 replies
ALVARGA Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ALVARGA Posted 26 Feb 2009 , 1:32pm
post #2 of 18

The dowels on the bottom support the top layers. Then one long one is driven through all the cakes to keep the cake from shifting. Buy a Wilton yearbook and in the middle of the magazine is pictures on how to dowel in a variety of ways. You are asking for a disaster if you don't dowel your cakes correctly. Hope this helps.

subaru Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
subaru Posted 26 Feb 2009 , 1:42pm
post #3 of 18

You MUST dowel you cake or you will have a disaster. Here is a tutorial on how to do it from the articles here in CC:

http://www.cakecentral.com/article23-Teired-Stacked-Cake-Construction.html