Coloring Red And Black Fondant

Decorating By Sweet-Kakes Updated 21 Feb 2009 , 2:49pm by Sweet-Kakes

Sweet-Kakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweet-Kakes Posted 21 Feb 2009 , 4:23am
post #1 of 8

Can anyone tell me how to color my fondant red and black? I am brand new to fondant, and made some mmf to do an alternating ball border on my daughter's basketball team's end-of-season cake. Their colors are red and black. I have the Wilton gel colors in christmas red, red-red, and black. I think the black will be easier than the red. Any tips at all on either color would be much appreciated!!

7 replies
baycheeks1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
baycheeks1 Posted 21 Feb 2009 , 4:40am
post #2 of 8

For the black I color my fondant like brown...as brown as you can get it, then add the black. Add as much as is needed to get black. Now for red, you have to color it until. I used the no taste red then put the red-red since it has a taste that people dont like. So, if you make it like a dark pink then add the red it should be ok. Red tends to need to sit a little bit so the color can soak through and get more red.

Chef_Stef Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chef_Stef Posted 21 Feb 2009 , 5:23am
post #3 of 8

Yeah, do it early and let it sit overnight to deepen the color. Your black will be dark grey at first, but it will deepen, so will the red.

You might want to at least coat your hands with crisco to keep the staining down, OR wear vinyl gloves, OR put the fondant in a plastic bag when you initially add color.

Also keep a bit of bleach around for the color that will always get on your countertop. icon_razz.gif

apetricek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
apetricek Posted 21 Feb 2009 , 5:30am
post #4 of 8