Isomalt / Sugar Sculptures Lifetime & Shipping

Sugar Work By Jackie Updated 10 Apr 2009 , 2:15am by kincaellan

Jackie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jackie Posted 20 Feb 2009 , 11:13pm
post #1 of 17

In reference to:
http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopicp-6260525.html#6260525

I wanted to start a new thread talking about logistics of making and shipping sugar sculptures.

Other members have noted that sugar is almost impossible to ship because of its life expectancy and weakness.

Quote:
Originally Posted by k8memphis

Hmm, not trying to be a downer here, but sugar doesn't have much life expectancy. Weakens and looses gloss quickly. Might not pack well.

I have never worked with sugar in this medium before so I will definitely be leaning on the pros here for info and ideas.

Would using ISOMALT instead of sugar and cooking it at a higher tempurature make it harder, and less likely to melt?

Also if every piece was treated with a Food Grade Shellac (confectionary glaze) to protect it from sweating, and humidity, possible?

16 replies
imakecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imakecakes Posted 20 Feb 2009 , 11:45pm
post #2 of 17

I have no idea how to use blown sugar and I still consider myself a newbie compared to others on the boards here...however......

Is it close to the way I have heard people making their own silicone molds for sugar bottles? Lots of people have done those on here, could it possibly be a starting point for brainstorming?

How far in advance did you make the bottles? Did they lose their shine over time? How long did it take? etc...

Another thought...how on earth would you cut and serve a cake covered in hand made sugar art???

Jackie Posted 20 Feb 2009 , 11:52pm
post #3 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by imakecakes

Another thought...how on earth would you cut and serve a cake covered in hand made sugar art???

Hmmm... good question!! icon_smile.gif