What Do You Charge?

Decorating By Leahmaria7981 Updated 19 Feb 2009 , 1:43am by indydebi

Leahmaria7981 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Leahmaria7981 Posted 18 Feb 2009 , 5:48pm
post #1 of 5

I have no idea how to price cakes. How much would you charge for a double layer 11x15? It's a camo cake that'll be done in BC. Thanks!

4 replies
cakesbykitty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbykitty Posted 18 Feb 2009 , 10:52pm
post #2 of 5

the general rule of thumb on here tends to be... add up all your costs and triple it. That is a good starting place.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 19 Feb 2009 , 12:37am
post #3 of 5

The "triple it" is a very general thing. I would go under if I did the Times-Three method. I'd be selling wedding cakes for about 1.25/serving. icon_eek.gif

Your costs are much more than just flour and eggs.

When I worked in manufacturing, my job was to establish pricing. I'd not only have to factor in the cost of raw materials, the packing costs, the transportation cost (from factory to warehouse ... from warehouse to customer) but also the labor charge, a factor for overhead, a misc cost factor, then do the ratio conversion to establish the selling price which would cover all of these expenses and a profit.

Example: To make a 2-layer 8" round cake cost me about $7-$8 in materials. Under the Times-Three theory, this cake should sell for $24, I(which according to the wilton chart, is $1/serving), giving you a $16 profit. Out of that profit, you pay for gas to go buy your supplies (transportation costs), your electricity for baking, mixing, water heater for clean up (overhead), the cake box and foil to cover the cardboard (packaging costs), paper towels, soap, (misc costs), your time for let's say 3 hours decorating time.

You'd be money ahead to turn the order down if you're going to do Times-Three.

cakesbykitty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbykitty Posted 19 Feb 2009 , 1:13am
post #4 of 5