Stupid Newbie Question Re Pastry Pride

Decorating By Vivalawvegas Updated 13 Feb 2009 , 9:49pm by Vivalawvegas

Vivalawvegas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Vivalawvegas Posted 12 Feb 2009 , 9:44pm
post #1 of 8

This my first post and I'm new to caking so please forgive my ignorance (BTW, I am completely addicted to this site now much to the chagrin of my husband and employer!).

I went to Smart & Final and bought: (1) Pastry Pride; (2) Frostin' Pride; and (3) Rich's Chocolate Bettercreme.

Can someone explain the differences between these for me? Obviously, I know the Rich's one I bought is chocolate (I'm not that much of a newbie!) but what does this stuff taste like? Can I decorate with it (can I get it to a medium or stiff consistency)? Or do you ice with it and then decorate with buttercreme or royal icing?

Like I said, I'm new to this so I'd appreciate the Cliff Notes!

TIA!

7 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 13 Feb 2009 , 2:39am
post #2 of 8

Sorry, I've never used any of those products (I make everything homemade from scratch). But here's a bump!

PS - Welcome to CC!

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 13 Feb 2009 , 5:09am
post #3 of 8

Hi and Welcome to CC, Vivalawvegas. icon_smile.gif

Decoding CC acronyms:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-2926-.html

Rich's filling/icing products (with photos and product desriptions):

http://www.richs.com/product_info.cfm?catid=6159

Pastry Pride vs. Frostin' Pride:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-601889-.html

HTH

Vivalawvegas Posted 13 Feb 2009 , 5:02pm
post #4 of 8

Thank you so much! That's exactly what I was looking for!

7yyrt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
7yyrt Posted 13 Feb 2009 , 5:30pm
post #5 of 8

One more thing...
Repeat after me -
There are NO stupid questions, there are NO stupid questions, there ARE NO stupid questions....
icon_smile.gif

terrylee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile