Any One Who Worked In Costco Bakery???????

Business By zubia Updated 8 Feb 2009 , 4:34am by zubia

zubia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zubia Posted 6 Feb 2009 , 7:33am
post #1 of 6

I have been doing cakes for a few years now ,I want to get bakery experience and decorate cakes on daily bases to get experience .I was thinking about getting a job in a cake shop but then my husband suggested costco. I read on line it has good reviews. If any one here works for them can you please tell me the how they work or is it better then any other bakery???
thank you
Zubia

5 replies
zubia Posted 6 Feb 2009 , 5:26pm
post #2 of 6

any one???

zubia Posted 6 Feb 2009 , 6:49pm
post #3 of 6

Iam giving it another bump,any one out there every worked in costco bakery??????

KimAZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KimAZ Posted 6 Feb 2009 , 10:54pm
post #4 of 6

I have a fellow decorator friend who worked in a Costco bakery for years. She can pipe borders faster than anyone I've ever seen!
She had to decorate a certain number of cakes per hour so I guess you have to be pretty darn fast. I have no idea what she was paid.

I know they only have certain designs,not custom work so I suppose that would help increase speed but not a lot of creativity.

KimAZ

korkyo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
korkyo Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 12:33am
post #5 of 6

I worked at a sams for a few years. It was not a bad job. Very fast paced. I was in a group of 5 decorators.

We put out about 200 orders per weekend + the cases + a huge display of about 200+ 10" decorated cakes to go. This was doubled for graduation weekend.