Beginner Needs Help Asap

Baking By poohthebear Updated 6 Feb 2009 , 6:50am by MadCatCookies

poohthebear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohthebear Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 3:24pm
post #1 of 14

Hi I am new to CC, and have been enjoying everything here! All of a sudden I have been overwhelmed with cookie orders for V-day. To tell the truth my cookies look like a two year old did them compared to what I have seen. Can someone share how you get the cookies to look so perfect? I have been using Wilton's cookie recipe and outlining with Royal icing and filling in with icing made with corn syrup. I just don't like the flavor of royal icing. When my cookies come out of the oven they are lumpy on the top so I have started decorating on the back. So please can someone help me? I have orders for about 14 dozen hearts all due next week.

13 replies
TracyLH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TracyLH Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 4:14pm
post #2 of 14

Hi - I expect Honeydukes will jump on this soon if she see it as she is wealth of knowledge and help. In the interim, I would recommend the NFSC recipe and I use Antonia74's RI which I give full credit as to why mine are smooth. As for flavor, Antonia74's meringue powder has vanilla flavoring already in it and I can't get the type of MP that she uses, I add 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract at the end. (You could also do pure almond extract). As you are not a big fan of RI, there are other recipes others use and Honeydukes will have the info.
Congrats on your orders! icon_biggrin.gif

bakinccc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakinccc Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 7:20pm
post #3 of 14