Buttercream Under Fondant?

Decorating By CookieMeister Updated 3 Feb 2009 , 6:18pm by stephaniescakenj

CookieMeister Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookieMeister Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 7:02pm
post #1 of 13

Dummy question time! icon_smile.gif I'm fairly new to the cake world in general, fondant in particular. I have in mind a design for a cake I want to take to a party on Friday, but it'll need fondant. I know marshmallow fondant is quite tasty, but no supplier here sells it locally, and I won't have time to make my own fondant (and I've never done that before, so I don't want to risk it while time is tight). Of course, I want my cake to look AND taste good.

I was watching a cake show over the weekend where it looked like they had a significant layer of buttercream (not just a thin layer) underneath the fondant. I can't imagine how they did this - maybe it was my imagination?

Anybody done this? If so, how do you do it and not get the buttercream to squish all around?

12 replies
dandelion56602 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dandelion56602 Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 9:11pm
post #2 of 13

Chill the cake before applying the fondant.

ddaigle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ddaigle Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 9:17pm
post #3 of 13

Cakemeister...true, MMF is very tasty....and it only takes minutes to make. Try whipping up some today or tomorrow and see how you like it and how easy it is. Then, if you don't like it, you still have time to go buy some. Deb

doughdough Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doughdough Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 9:25pm
post #4 of 13

As far as buying fondant goes, I am NOT a fan of the Wilton brand...very weird tasting...I AM a fan of Satin Ice, so if you can find that in your area I would definately go with that.

However, fondant is not hard to make if you decide to go that route instead. I highly recommend Michele Foster's recipe that's in the recipe section here!