Clueless About Buttercream

Decorating By cakecrazy09 Updated 1 Feb 2009 , 6:25pm by cakecrazy09

cakecrazy09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakecrazy09 Posted 1 Feb 2009 , 5:20am
post #1 of 11

I'm so frustrated with icing!!! I'm new to decorating and started with the Wilton recipe. I like it because I can adjust the consistancy for icing the cake or for decorating. I didn't like it because it has too much air it and no matter how hard I try I can't get it smooth. I love Sugarshacks recipe it tastes great and is smooth as glass for icing the cake. However it's too thin to decorate with. Am I doing something wrong or should I use another recipe for decorating? BTW I'm following the recipe for KA 6qt mixer. I was so frustrated that I went and bought Sams club icing in the 5 gallon bucket. Guess what? It's too thin!!!! At the local baking store they sell a decorator icing 3pd bucket $35.00. Is this what I need to get? I'm spending way too much time on try to get the icing right I don't get to decorate as much as I would like. Any suggestions would be great.

10 replies
butterflyjuju Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
butterflyjuju Posted 1 Feb 2009 , 5:41am
post #2 of 11

If there is too much air, you are mixing it too long. It it's too thin just add a tad more powdered sugar.

DsLady614 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DsLady614 Posted 1 Feb 2009 , 7:30am
post #3 of 11

You know, all problems with buttercream can be solved with practice. The consistency is changed using whatever liquid is in it and powdered sugar. Too stiff, add a little liquid, too soft, add powdered sugar. And keep adding it until it's right. I don't understand why we are so afraid to add powdered sugar. If it take half a pound to get the right consistency, so be it.