Ivory Colored Buttercream

Decorating By Cindys56 Updated 2 Feb 2009 , 7:47pm by Cindys56

Cindys56 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cindys56 Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 4:05pm
post #1 of 19

I have a wedding cake to do in April and the bride would like ivory colored icing. How do I make it ivory colored? I'm very new at this so I hope this isn't a dumb question.

Thanks

18 replies
tinabee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tinabee Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 4:19pm
post #2 of 19

There are no dumb questions! You can either use ivory coloring or when you make your icing if you use regular brown vanilla it will make a pretty ivory shade. Good luck!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 4:25pm
post #3 of 19

I'm a brown vanilla person, too, with ivory food coloring on stand-by in case it needs to go a shade or two darker.

mbt4955 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mbt4955 Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 4:45pm
post #4 of 19

Ivory coloring and/or real vanilla is what I do too.

loriemoms Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loriemoms Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 4:53pm
post #5 of 19

same here with the vanilla...and real butter. That gives it a nice ivory color too. Word of warning: DONT use brown coloring and think it will be just a light brown. It will be a light pink!! Use Ivory.

Necey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Necey Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 4:57pm
post #6 of 19

yes, I too have learned that regular vanilla will give you the lovely ivory color you need ..and...there are no dumb questions. icon_smile.gif

mareg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mareg Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 5:58pm
post #7 of 19

Wow didn't know that. And I just made an Ivory wedding cake too!

Cindys56 Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 9:53pm
post #8 of 19

Thank you all very much for helping me with this. I appreciate it. icon_biggrin.gif

niccicola Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
niccicola Posted 1 Feb 2009 , 2:15am
post #9 of 19