Quick Question If Noone Minds :)

Decorating By chellescountrycakes Updated 2 Feb 2009 , 1:13am by chellescountrycakes

chellescountrycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chellescountrycakes Posted 30 Jan 2009 , 11:51pm
post #1 of 26

hello,

I have been reading your forum, and have been really impressed. Thank you for all the great info. icon_smile.gif

Now, to preface this, I am NOT a pro, I am not even an amature. LOL

I had a "OMG WE FORGOT MIL's BIRTHDAY" problem. So I threw together a few cakes, and took my wilton (?) paste stuff and threw it in some betty crocker buttercream frosting.

some of my cake has dried good, and I am able to do the paper towell method (THANK YOU!!! ) on it.

BUT the red, and the brown on one of the cakes WILL NOT dry. PERIOD. I cant smooth it, I cant paper towell method it, I cant do anything with it.

Its been hours.

I CAN NOT put this in the freezer. It wont fit. She has a large amount of kids and inlaws, so I put 3 13X9 cakes together. I tried to put it in the freezer but it wouldnt fit. LOL

For the record, the last cake I did I didnt have to put it in the freezer. It set up just fine. Then I was able to put the bases and lines and writing on it. (it was a baseball feild). and with that one I used the same frosting and food coloring. LOTS AND LOTS of food coloring.

This time, for the brown and red I used the wilton paste. for the red it took 2 1oz jars of it for a tub of frosting. I had to have a DEEP red. (its a coke bottle). for the brown it was 2 tubs, and 1oz of brown and 1/2 oz of black.

One TWO of the cakes the brown set up just fine as did the green. On the other, niether will set up. PERIOD.

I even scraped off the crumb coat, AND the colored coat and started again.

I have a fan blowing on it right now. is there ANYTHIN else I can do?

I do have enough of both colors that I can scrape this off and do it again. BUT just barely.

Or am I screwed?