How Many Wedding Cakes Do You All Do Per Month Or Per Year?

Decorating By Florimbio Updated 1 Feb 2009 , 5:27pm by weirkd

Florimbio Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Florimbio Posted 30 Jan 2009 , 10:43pm
post #1 of 44

I was just asked this by a fellow DJ guy...he knew exacty how many weddings he did last year...So I went home and added mine up...I am just wondering what the norm is? I am a home baker, no fancy bakery, but I would love to know how many the bakery people are doing as well...Average per month per year....

Just an FYI...I did 78 last year, however I go out of town the whole month of Aug, so I do not take any cake orders the whole month...now some months I had 2 a day, some months were slower, ie...Jan, Feb..

Thanks, just wandering what the customer ratio is for home bakers vs bakerys tooicon_smile.gif

Thanks

43 replies
Florimbio Posted 30 Jan 2009 , 11:30pm
post #2 of 44

Anyone???? Hope I am not being nosey...I just realy want to know if I am doing the average or more than average?

Thanks icon_biggrin.gif

j-pal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
j-pal Posted 30 Jan 2009 , 11:37pm
post #3 of 44

When I had my shop in my parent's renovated lower level, we were averaging about 5 or 6 per week, with as many as 12 in a weekend. I don't know if I would be ranked as a bakery or a home... we were legal, but it was a specialty, by-appointment-only type of shop - not one with ready-made cakes or anything.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 30 Jan 2009 , 11:46pm
post #4 of 44

I'm not sure that I'm a good comparison... I did 49 wedding cakes last year. But since I do catering, also, (59 caterings) I can't book a lot on the same day or even the same weekend, depending on how big or how far away the catering is.

Our goal, this year, is to bust that bubble wide open and have catering staff-teams out in multiple bookings on a single day!

Florimbio Posted 30 Jan 2009 , 11:59pm
post #5 of 44