Larger Cake Boards?

Decorating By missdaisycakes Updated 9 Feb 2009 , 5:45pm by SusanaDalia

missdaisycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missdaisycakes Posted 29 Jan 2009 , 9:09pm
post #1 of 12

Hi, I'm pretty new to the cake thing...I usually just make cakes for my family and special occassions. But I was just asked by a good friend to make a a cake for her 40th Birthday. My question is she wants a 2 tier cake. What i'm confused with is I use the cake board under each tier and stack it with dowels, but what do I do once it is done? What do I put on? On a larger cake board? I'm confused? At home I just put it on my cake platter. So since I will take it to her I don't want to take my platter and have the possibility losing it. So what do you guys do?

11 replies
KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 29 Jan 2009 , 9:44pm
post #2 of 12

I make completely disposable cake boards by hot glueing several cardboard rounds together and then cover them in either scrapbooking paper or wrapping paper, whatever fits the theme and colors, and then add some ribbon to the edge to tie in with the cake. Here are a couple of mine. I don't charge any extra for these, they come with the cake....if someone wants to pay to rent a nice silver plateau then they can...otherwise this is what they get.
LL
LL
LL

twooten173 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
twooten173 Posted 29 Jan 2009 , 9:56pm
post #3 of 12

You put a lot of work into your cake boards KHalstead. They are fabulous!

GayeG Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GayeG Posted 29 Jan 2009 , 9:59pm
post #4 of 12

This has really helped me as well! Thank you so much for explaining!

I LOVE LOVE LOVE the polka dotted one!! Its awesome!

Im so glad you asked missdaisycakes !

jamiekwebb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jamiekwebb Posted 29 Jan 2009 , 10:06pm
post #5 of 12