Farmer's Market Revisited??

Baking By lhayes1976 Updated 6 Mar 2009 , 1:53am by mellee

lhayes1976 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lhayes1976 Posted 27 Jan 2009 , 4:18pm
post #1 of 7

I know this was discussed on a previous thread, but I would like to have some feed-back on how some you did who were contemplating doing this. I would like to do it and would appreciate any tips or advice. I know I have to be legal and am in the process of doing that right know. Our local farmer's market don't really start until Spring and run until Fall. So I have a few months.

6 replies
lhayes1976 Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 12:58pm
post #2 of 7

I thought I would give this a bump since it's getting a little closer to that time of year.

mellee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mellee Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 5:21pm
post #3 of 7

Thanks for posting this. As a noob, I look forward to seeing the responses too!

enoid Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
enoid Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 5:36pm
post #4 of 7

bump

mellee Posted 5 Mar 2009 , 6:36pm
post #5 of 7

Hey lhayes1976, I think Ill take a stab at answering your question since there doesnt seem to be anyone here who was just starting out and sold goodies at the Farmers Market. Im currently considering a home baking business myself, and while I havent sold my baked goods at my local Farmers Market, I HAVE sold many other things Ive made in various other venues. Some of what I learned can be transferred over. That, and Ive also visited many Farmers Markets myself.

First I would contact whoever runs the Farmers Market and ask them flat out for advice. Theyll probably be happy to help you out! I would also ask if you can have the contact information for any old timers whove been selling at the market and who would be willing to help you learn the ropes. There has got to be someone whod be willing to help you out a bit.