Cake Decorating For Friends And Family

Business By aprilcreativecakes Updated 27 Jan 2009 , 6:55pm by aprilcreativecakes

aprilcreativecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aprilcreativecakes Posted 18 Jan 2009 , 5:23pm
post #1 of 11

I know I have seen some post on here that have very neg. towards unlicensed cake decorators. I really don't want this post to turn into that. But I would like some construtive advice. I have a home daycare that is legit by the state. But I really really love the creativity that cake decorating gives me. I have been making cakes mosty for my children's birthdays for the past 4 1/2 years but i am wanting to stream out alittle. I am getting tired of the same spiderman and deigo cakes. lol I have been making cakes for friends and family and charging them mainly just supplies (I know whats the point) but I love to do it. I was reading all the post and seeing that maybe I could get in trouble. I don't want to get in trouble for making cake for friends or friends friends. I am not really making a profit. I have sold 3 cakes ever and i think made after supplies maybe $50.00 not even enough to worry with taxes. I am approved through USDA and my home daycare in inspected through them every 2 months. I am looking at wanting 2 to 3 cakes a month. I am just wondering if I would be ok with this. Does anyone know. Also, I am in Florida. Again I really don't want nasty feedback because I know what those people think. I am just wondering if what I am doing is illegal. I am not looking to take business away from the legal one! Just do something I love. on the side.
Thank you in advance for your help.

10 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 18 Jan 2009 , 5:56pm
post #2 of 11

Being approved by the usda for day care is good but it is still a different set of hoops to jump through for baking.