Red Gumpaste?!?!

Decorating By forthwife Updated 17 Jan 2009 , 9:33pm by forthwife

forthwife Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
forthwife Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 5:15am
post #1 of 9

Ok, I'm wanting to make a red gumpaste rose. I had no idea this was such an impossible dream. What is the best method of getting my gumpaste red instead of pink?? Thanks!!

8 replies
sparklepopz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sparklepopz Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 5:24am
post #2 of 9

It's definitely not impossible. I use Americolor Super Red and knead it right into the gumpaste (I use Nick Lodge's recipe). Then once my red roses have dried, I brush them with petal dust which further deepens the color.

If your GP is still pink, you need to add more color. Of course, you can just brush your roses with petal dust, dip in concentrated color, or airbrush them once they are dry. icon_smile.gif

forthwife Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 5:33am
post #3 of 9

I'm still a newbie and just use Wilton's gel color. Can I achieve red gp with that? Also....how much (ball park) does an airbrush cost?

sparklepopz Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 5:39am
post #4 of 9

Wilton's red will give you red gumpaste but it will take a LOT. Be prepared to add some powdered sugar to offset the change in consistency all that gel color will impart.

An airbrush can range from the inexpensive to the really expensive. You can pick up a nice airbrush from Airbrush City for 50 bucks and a compressor at Harbor Freight Tools for another 50 bucks (and you can often catch them on sale for less than that). Then you buy the airbrush colors and some coloring books and start practicing!

The cake in your avatar is gorgeous! I don't think you're a newbie. icon_smile.gif

forthwife Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 5:51am
post #5 of 9