Royal Icing And Luster Dust...lesson Learned

Decorating By joenshan Updated 17 Jan 2009 , 4:00pm by Jayde

joenshan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joenshan Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 4:07am
post #1 of 8

So, don't paint your royal icing with a mixture of vodka and luster dust, your RI will turn to mush. I guess you would just dust it dry.

Sadly, I am a chemist and should have known immediately that alcohol breaks down sugars. My biochem professor would be so disappointed.....

7 replies
2508s42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2508s42 Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 4:24am
post #2 of 8

Actually, if you airbrush it with the vodka/dust, lightly, then let dry, then do it again, it will be fine. I did about 300 snowflakes this way. I do agree that if you put it on with a paint brush and the vodka, they will dissolve.

Sorry this happended to you.

pinkbox Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinkbox Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 4:25am
post #3 of 8

haha... so sorry to hear that...

I have heard it can be done... maybe a diferent compound??

I just tried a tylose w/ boiling water turns to glue then luster dust mixed in concoction..

no on RI but maybe??

do you think that would work?

CakesByJen2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesByJen2 Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 1:51pm
post #4 of 8

I frequently paint royal icing with luster dust mixed with lemon extract or pure grain alcohol, and it doesn't turn to mush. What proof was your vodka? I suspect it was the water content, not the alcohol. Or your "paint" was not concentrated enough, you used too much, went over the piece too many times, or the royal icing was not completely dry. You have to make sure the paint is thick enough, enough luster dust added, that you get the coverage you want in one stroke, and be sure the brush is not overloaded with paint. The royal icing has to be completely dr to begin with, then you need to be sure to let it dry completely again before touching.