Need Some Help Making A Gp Magnolia Or Peony

Decorating By Chef_Stef Updated 21 Jan 2009 , 12:54am by Chef_Stef

Chef_Stef Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chef_Stef Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 12:00am
post #1 of 13

I'm not very good at GP flowers and don't have any books for these two flowers, so I need to know...

For a huge Peony, camelia, or magnolia, are the petal on wires?

Does anyone have a little tutorial or a link or a starting point for these? I need to fiddle with them over this weekend.

Thanks so much!

12 replies
summernoelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
summernoelle Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 12:05am
post #2 of 13

Here is a bump-i would like to know this, too.

ibmoser Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ibmoser Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 2:23pm
post #3 of 13

I don't have any links to free tutorials, but Nicholas Lodge has excellent DVDs very reasonably priced. He has one featuring a gardenia and peony and another with magnolia and bearded iris. Most large petals are individually wired, and the Celboard with the V slots on one side is very helpful in making wired petals and leaves. Global sells these DVDs as does ISAC (Nic's store).

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 2:32pm
post #4 of 13

Nick's DVDs are excellent for these flowers but if you have the International book of Sugarcraft, book 3, there is a tutorial on gumpaste peonies which is very helpful.

Chef_Stef Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 5:34pm
post #5 of 13

I know there are books and DVDs out there, but I was hoping to try these this weekend for a display next week.

Oh well. Guess I'll try making them "off the hip", or just use silk.

Thanks anyway

Chef_Stef Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 10:58pm
post #6 of 13

I found a link on Scott Clark Woolley's site that has 31 pages of in depth GP flower instructions that you can save or print, including Camelias, stargazer lilies, magnolias, and peonies, amoung many others. woo hoo

Here's the link.