Stress Cracks In Buttercream

Decorating By havingfun Updated 15 Jan 2009 , 5:24am by kakeladi

havingfun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
havingfun Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 12:57am
post #1 of 6

This is me being anal about planning. icon_redface.gif When I set up a cake, and IF there happen to be tiny stress cracks in the crusting buttercream, is there a way to "fix" them?? Could you mist them lightly with water? I have read all about using the boards and foamcore, etc., but I am a hobby baker and do not have the money for much equipment. I use my 40% coupons at Michaels and just squeak by with materials. I do double my cardboard rounds and transport my cakes unstacked on pieces of plywood. Any ideas??

5 replies
sparklepopz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sparklepopz Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 1:06am
post #2 of 6

Have you priced foamcore? A 20" x 30" sheet of it is @$2.99, or $1.79 after your 40% coupon. And if you do not have an xActo knife, they are under $5. A 20" x 30" sheet of foamcore will yield several cake circles, and you will never have stress cracks again.

But if you insist on using regular cardboard cake circles (a package of which costs more than a sheet of foamcore), yes, you can lightly mist them and smooth them with a spatula using a VERY gentle touch.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 2:23am
post #3 of 6

If you are having 'stress cracks' it just might be that your icing needs a bit more fat in it. Are you using a crusting recipe? Then up the fat by maybe 1/4 cup and I bet you won't have any more.
You could try misting & going over the icing but in the long run you probably will have more of a mess that shows than if you just left it alone. The average 'non-cake person' is NOT going to notice them!

havingfun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
havingfun Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 3:31am
post #4 of 6

Thank you both for your answers. kakeladi, I use the Buttercream Dream recipe from this site.