Help! Help! Monogram On A Wedding Cake

Decorating By Molly2 Updated 14 Jan 2009 , 11:05pm by Michele25

Molly2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Molly2 Posted 12 Jan 2009 , 10:19pm
post #1 of 20

I Have been asked to make a three tier square wedding cake with a monogram on one of the tiers Im not very good at writing on my cakes is their a easy way to do this Im very nervous about doing the monogram part PLEASE HELP! I really want to make this cake for my friend.

Molly

19 replies
j-pal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
j-pal Posted 12 Jan 2009 , 10:24pm
post #2 of 20

There are several ways you can do this...

You can make it out of royal icing or color flow ahead of time, using a pattern. This will give you a perfect finish and gives it some added "dimension". Plus it can be pearlized beautifully.

If you want to pipe it directly onto the cake, you can make a pattern. Print out the letters in the font and size that you want, then stick a toothpick through the paper (into a styro disc). The back of the paper should have "chads" sticking out the back. When you press your "pattern" onto the cake, it will leave an outline of the monogram to be piped. This will also work on fondant.

Good luck!

southerncake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
southerncake Posted 12 Jan 2009 , 10:33pm
post #3 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-pal

You can make it out of royal icing or color flow ahead of time, using a pattern. This will give you a perfect finish and gives it some added "dimension". Plus it can be pearlized beautifully.

This is my chosen method for monograms (using royal icing). It allows you to be able to do very detailed lettering. If the couple is using a monogram on their invitations, I usually have the printer email me the font so that it will match perfectly.

I simply print out the monogram, lay a piece of wax paper on top and pipe away (usually several layers). I typically make several in case of breakage.

pkinkema Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile