Sad! Cake Life Questions (Long, Sorry!)

Decorating By Butterpatty Updated 12 Jan 2009 , 5:26pm by quilting2011

Butterpatty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Butterpatty Posted 10 Jan 2009 , 10:50pm
post #1 of 15

First of all, let me say thank you to each of the ladies here for all the great ideas and all the questions I have had answered by reading the forums here! I love, love, love this site.

I am a good baker and a "casual" decorator. I have always made cakes for my family and then friends begged for me to make cakes for them also. I was able to do it because they paid for the supplies (no other charge to them). Now, by reading here, I have found out that even this is not legal and I am glad to have found out before a problem occurred. I cannot afford to do them for friends out of my own pocket and they are still begging despite my telling them why I can't legally. I will persevere in telling them, though.

I am feeling very sad today because a dear friend begged and begged for a cake that is a new technique for me and I had to say no over and over because I cannot afford the fondant and such it would take to do it. I cried as I looked through cake photos here today and now I have a lot of questions to ask myself and you.

(#1) If I only make 2-3 cakes a month, is it worth pursuing the cost/aggravation to get licensed and get insurance? I have another job and quite honestly I cannot see me ever doing wedding cakes or doing more than 6-8 orders/month (birthdays, occcasion cakes, etc).