Mixer????

Decorating By rcsnickers2 Updated 11 Jan 2009 , 1:58pm by JenniferMI

rcsnickers2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rcsnickers2 Posted 10 Jan 2009 , 6:09pm
post #1 of 17

I am new to cake decorating. I have only sold two cakes so far. My cheap 9 dollar hand mixer finally died. I would LOVE to buy a Kitchenaide but cannot bring myself to paying the price. I was curious on what you guys use? Are there any cheaper versions of the Kitchenaide stand mixers? I saw a Hamilton Beach stand/hand mixer for $30. It came with beaters, whip and hooks. I has a 4qt bowl and six speeds. What should I look for in a good mixer without having to pay a lot of money that I don't have!

Thanks!!

16 replies
bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bizatchgirl Posted 10 Jan 2009 , 6:25pm
post #2 of 17

I think it really depends on what you are using it for. If you are using it for just icing and batter, you can probably do with a cheaper stand mixer. I used my Sunbeam stand mixer for almost 2 years.

I do love it, but it's not a KA. It got to the point where I needed to move on. Need more HP so I can make MMF. Need that nice paddle blade thingy that really gets all the icing good. Needed a mixer that wasn't putting air in all my icing (though if I knew enough, I probably could have figured that out on my Sunbeam). We got a really good deal on my KA at Costco.

I guess I would just think of your needs. If you want to make MMF eventually, the $30 Hamilton probably won't cut it. Go on Amazon and find user reviews of any model you are looking at, check out HP and wattage.

BTW, where are you at? I am still looking for a home for my Sunbeam. Very inspired by Tita's story of shipping her old KA to Japan. Not sure I would be able to afford the shipping though. That had to be costly.

CourtneysSweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CourtneysSweets Posted 10 Jan 2009 , 8:07pm
post #3 of 17