What To Do With All My Eggs?

Decorating By stephaniescakenj Updated 10 Jan 2009 , 6:32pm by Mike1394

stephaniescakenj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stephaniescakenj Posted 10 Jan 2009 , 3:19pm
post #1 of 13

Hi Everyone!

I purchased a 5 doz container of eggs a few weeks ago. Usually I go through them between batches of cake and IMBC but the beginning of January was a little slow for me so I have about a dozen set to expire in two days that I want to use up. I have four cakes to do between the 24th and 31st of January so I was thinking of just making two batches of IMBC and freezing it for use then. I've never done that before though. I think you can do that, right? If so, my question would be since these eggs are about to expire, do I have to worry about the buttercream once I defrost it, does it still have the same shelf life if there is leftover cake.

Thanks!!!

12 replies
__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 10 Jan 2009 , 3:38pm
post #2 of 13

That reminds me of something we did in cooking school. Long time ago, and maybe it wasn't the best thing to do, but when the semester was over and we were all done cleaning out the fridges, the eggs were left in. School was set to start again in a couple of months, and the chef/instructor said, eggs kept for months. I always wondered about that. I never have egss for longer than a couple ofweeks at most, due to them just plain being used before then.

stephaniescakenj Posted 10 Jan 2009 , 3:48pm
post #3 of 13

Exactly! we always go through them so I've never had them sit around long enough to expire but I hate to waste them especially since I have a use for them in two weeks and secondly the cost just went up by $1.40 per 5 doz here so I really don't want to just throw them out.

psurrette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
psurrette Posted 10 Jan 2009 , 4:04pm
post #4 of 13