What Can I Do To Become Better? Take A Look At My Pics

Decorating By dcabrera Updated 10 Jan 2009 , 1:56am by deliciously_decadent

dcabrera Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dcabrera Posted 9 Jan 2009 , 12:02am
post #1 of 22

Can someone please take a look at my pics and tell me how/where I need to improve? I need honest advice. Family and friends say they're great, but then I look at the ones on here and they don't compare. I've been making cakes since July 2008. I really want to get good, but I always end up with the same uneven sloppy looking cake. How can I get smooth edges and fondant?

21 replies
bostonterrierlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bostonterrierlady Posted 9 Jan 2009 , 12:10am
post #2 of 22

I think your cakes look good. I always feel the way you do too. I only like to do buttercream. What knid of buuttercream recipe do you use? I am always looking for a different recipe.Do you use Crisco?

jules06 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jules06 Posted 9 Jan 2009 , 12:18am
post #3 of 22

Your cakes don't look sloppy & uneven to me !!! I think they look great !! icon_biggrin.gif

dcabrera Posted 9 Jan 2009 , 12:20am
post #4 of 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bostonterrierlady

I think your cakes look good. I always feel the way you do too. I only like to do buttercream. What knid of buuttercream recipe do you use? I am always looking for a different recipe.Do you use Crisco?

Thank you. That's funny. I only do fondant. I really like the swiss meringue buttercream. I'm not a crisco buttercream girl. It's on the recipes here. I got it from this site.

CakeMakar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMakar Posted 9 Jan 2009 , 12:21am
post #5 of 22